Girls Track Finishes Undefeated

Last Saturday, Andover Track competed against rival Exeter in the last meet of the season. In the final race, athletes achieved many personal records, bringing the successful season to a close. The Andover girls beat Exeter 84-61 to finish off an undefeated season. Winning the High Jump was Melissa Ferrari ’10 with 5 feet, while Colleen Flanagan ’10 took the Pole Vault by clearing 8 feet. Andover swept the 100 Hurdles, with Annie McDonough ’09 winning in 16.8 seconds, followed by Caroline O’Sullivan ’10 and Sophie Shimer ’09. McDonough also won the 300 Hurdles in addition to being a member of both winning relay teams. In her last high-school track meet, Hill improved her 200m time by over a second, speeding to a 26.71. Catherine Coppinger ’09 won the 400m, breaking sixty seconds for the first time with a time of 59.93. Coppinger was followed closely by Dawkins, who also improved her personal best with 1:00.29. Abby Levene ’09, undefeated this year in the 3000, once again swept the competition with a time of 10:19.56, creating a deficit of nearly forty-five seconds. Levene also took second in the 1500m with a time of 4:56.58, a hair behind Exeter’s top runner. The MVP for the season was McDonough, who will also be Captain for the 2008-2009 Outdoor season. The Andover boys, hoping to avenge their half-point loss to Exeter at Interschols, were unable to come out on top last weekend. Andover won both relays by under a second, scoring crucial points. Unfortunately, Exeter swept the Shot Put, and Henry Wilkin ’09 was the sole Andover placer in the Discus, taking third with 118.3 feet. Stefan Gordon ’09 placed second in the High Jump with 5’8”, while Mike Donelan ’08 and Frank Pinto ’08 took the Triple Jump, leaping 41’9’’ and 39’11”, respectively. Pinto also achieved a personal best in the Long Jump, breaking twenty feet for the first time in his track career. Charlie Dong ’09 won the Pole Vault with 10’6’’, followed by Peter Ly ’09 in third, who cleared 10 feet. Tyler Bond ’10 threw a personal best of 149’11’’ to win the Javelin event. Captain Lou Tejada ’08, a member of both relay teams, took second place in the 100m with 11.57, as well as third in the 200m with 23.71, just behind Donelan’s 23.03. Chase Potter ’09, also a dual relay runner, placed second in the 400 with a 52.85. Charlie Ganner ’10 took second in both the 1500 and 3000, finishing in 4:10.9 and 9:27.39, respectively. The MVP for the season was Captain Tejada, and Potter was elected Captain for next year.