Members of Andover Community Commended For Character and Achievements at Prize Assembly

Amidst the enthusiastic cheers of the Class of 2007 at Wednesday’s All-School Meeting, certain members of the Andover community were honored for their accomplishments during the past year with prizes, scholarships and fellowships for summer study. Andover honored 32 students at the gathering. Head of School Barbara Chase presented general awards, as did first-year Athletic Director Mike Kuta and Dean of Studies John Rogers, both of whom honored recipients in their respective disciplines. The honorees were determined by a number of committees, chiefly the six-member Prize Com-mittee, chaired by Registrar and Instructor in Mathematics Herb Morton, and the four-member Scholarship Prize Committee, chaired by Instructor in History and Social Science Christopher Gurry. These committees meet several times during Spring Term to discuss potential recipients, nomi-nated by the PA faculty, of awards to be given out at the Prize Assembly and at Commencement. The Sullivan Prize selects members of the Lower, Upper and Senior classes to be honored for academic improvement. A.J. Charles ’07, Joe Wilkin ’08 and Aaron Sage ’09 were the recipients of that prize for this year. Other recipients of academic awards were Karen Schoenherr ’07, who won the Van Duzer Prize for high scholarship during Upper year; Avery Stone ’10, who won the Wells Prize for character and perseverance within the Junior class; Menelik Washington ’09, who won the Keyes Prize for character, leadership, scholarship, and athletic ability among Lowers; Lydia Dallett ’08, who won the Andover Club Prize for an Upper with excellence in scholarship with achievement in other fields; and Stephanie Clegg ’08, who won the Stiles Prize, which honors an Upper with exemplary judgment and loyalty to the school. Hanson Causbie ’08, Stephanie Clegg ’08 and Emily Cokorinos ’08 were also all honored by the Lorant Fellowship for most earnest endeavor. A separate committee, chaired by Instructor in Theatre and Dance Mark Efinger, awards that prize. Mr. Kuta, before announcing the winners of the athletic prizes, spoke about Andover’s strong athletic seasons. Both Boys and Girls Cross County won at Interschols during Fall Term, and Girls and Boys Volleyball, Boys Baseball and Boys Swimming won league championships. The Athletic Department honored Kristen Macdonald ’07, who won the Abbot Athletic Award for a girl who has excelled in varsity sports; Howie Kalter ’07, who won the Schubert Key for a Senior who has excelled in varsity athletics; Matthew McGrath ’07, who won the Sheridan Award for intramural sports; Erika Roddy ’07 and Christopher Bramwell ’07, both of whom won the Press Club Award for being the most capable athletes of the year; and William Sherrill ’07, who won the Raymond T. Tippett award, which honors a Senior on the Varsity Baseball or Football teams. Mrs. Chase honored several Seniors with general prizes. These Seniors were Renee Amirault ’07, who won the Achievement Prize for great personal and academic achievement; Christopher Pohlmeyer ’07, who won the Ayars Prize for a Senior with a position of respect and admiration within the school community; Annie Boylan ’07, who won the Fuller Prize for the Senior who best upholds the ideals and traditions of the school; Carly Villareal ’07, who won the Isabel Maxwell Hancock Award for a Senior with concern for the welfare of all; Chris Li ’07, who won the Richard Jewett Schweppe Prize for a Senior with an exemplary spirit of cooperation and friendliness; Sam Gould ’07, who won the Abbot Stevens Prize for a significant contribution to the Senior class through character and leadership; and Akosua Oforiwaa-Ayim ’07, who won the Kingsbury Prize for a student distinguished in perseverance and resolution. At the end of the All-School Meeting, Mrs. Chase led the school in a retrospective of the previous year, using front-page photos from The Phillipian to explain the progression of Andover’s 229th year. “Think about these pictures. I’m grateful to The Phillipian,” Mrs. Chase said, as she explained the school’s progress this year in growing resources for financial aid, faculty compensation and reevaluating the school’s academic program. “To those of you in the front, this is your last time sitting here as seniors.” Mrs. Chase said. “We love you, and we will miss you. Congratulations, ’07.”