Boys Track Wins 16 of 17 Events, Beats Cushing; Casey Shannon ’07 Dominates Shotput and Discus

Captain Kojo Degraft-Hanson ’05 led the Boys Varsity Track Team to victory over Cushing Academy in its first meet in almost a month. Andover won 16 of 17 events and completed a sweep of seven events as Andover cruised into first place, beating the Penguins 133-117. Casey Shannon ’07 dominated in the throws against a talented and numerous group of throwers from Cushing. Shannon claimed highest honors in the Shot Put with a colossal personal best throw of 46 feet 10 inches. Shannon returned in the Discus against the same competitor. He placed second, a mere five inches behind his opposition but still with a solid mark of 124’5” and earned yet another personal best. The long distance duo of Chris Donais ’05 and Seán Hamilton ’06 placed first and second, respectively, in both the 1500 Meters and the 3000 Meters. With scant competition in both races, the two paced off each other and managed to run respectable times in the 1500 at 4:23 and 4:24. Captain Degraft-Hanson added to Andover’s already mounting score as he led sweeps of both the 200 Meters and the 400 Meters. In the 400 Meters, Degraft-Hanson lead the cresting blue wave of distance convert Idris Jatoi ’05 and Colin Calabrese ’06. The Captain crossed the line in 53.3 with Jatoi following at 56.0, both impressive times given the heat and lack of competition. Greg Hsu ’06, Lou Tejada ’08, and Jerell Smith ’05 swept the 100 Meters. Hsu and Tejada crossed together at 11.9 seconds, with Smith at 12.0 seconds. Hsu and Tejada joined Degraft-Hanson in the 200 Meter for another sweep. Ben Bramhall ’07 led Jon Hillman ’05 and Addison Godine ’07 in the sweep of the 800 Meters. Mario Noyola ’06 dominated the Pole Vault with a vault of 11’6”. Callistus Onyiuke ’05 finished first in the Long Jump with a mark of 18’11”. Onyiuke returned to place second in the High Jump with Josh Barclay ’05 taking the top spot as he managed to clear the bar at 6’0”. Jonathan Dent ’05 dominated the competition in the Javelin, placing first with an impressive mark of 143’2”. Greg Pucillo ’06 placed second behind Dent with a mark of 119’0”. Andover’s hurdlers claimed first and second in both the 100 Meters and 300 Meter Hurdle events. Jeff Zhou ’06 and Edwin Kulubia ’06 placed first and second respectively in the 110 Meter Hurdles. Kulubia and Rajeev Saxena ’06 took 1-2 in the 300 Meter hurdles, crossing the line at 45.0 and 47.3 respectively.